Weight or Age?

While there’s no denying that you can’t stop the sun from rising and setting each day, I do believe that there’s a choice to accept the aging process.  Fixation on an age or number serves no purpose cuz it ain’t gonna change!  However, can we actually influence the aging process?

Some days I feel that I’ve got a few more hurdles than just wrinkles on my face or sore joints.  I am also overweight.  Pretty significantly.  Have been all my life.  Even at 15 years old when I weighed 135lbs, I believed I was a big, fat fatty.  Oh, the follies of youth!  At this point, I’m going to be overjoyed to get under 200 (the first milestone), and then we’ll set a new goal.  Pretty sure I won’t see 135 again, but never say never J

I’ve spent many a dollar on diets and plans and cleanses, oh my!  Some with great results, but none of them were long-lasting, and even worse, I typically gained the weight back and more (you know what I’m talking about).   My highest weight was 262lbs, and my lowest in the past 5 years has been 196.  Let’s call it even & split the difference for my current weight.

My recent ‘guidebook’ is coming in the form of “Younger Next Year for Women” by Chris Crowley and Dr. Henry S. Lodge.  Give this a read if you haven’t already.  They spell things out pretty simply – you HAVE to, MUST get moving and work your body like the machine it is.  I’m working towards the end goal, but for now, it looks like 20 minutes on the elliptical Monday-Friday mornings.  Three weeks straight, including two days with a migraine (which was brutal, by the way).  I started off at 14 minutes and slowly increased the duration.

This regime has been coupled with some visualization exercises.  I’ve never tried this technique before, and admittedly, it’s REALLY hard to shut the brain off and concentrate on the exercise.  I listen to a recording each night as I’m preparing to fall asleep, and many nights have been a battle of voices in my head. Listen to the recording, DD – stop thinking about work!  I’m trying!  Well, try harder!   Sigh…clearly some nights are more successful than others.

Leave a Reply

